The original name of Odessa was Mill Creek. In 1838 the York Road passed through the village giving its economy a boost. In 1855, the village was renamed by its postmaster to commemorate the siege of the Black Sea port of Odessa (now in the Ukraine) in 1854 by the British Fleet during the Crimean War.
Sights to see when visiting Odessa include the Historic Babcock Mill (c.1856), which is located by following the Millhaven Creek, running through the heart of Odessa, south from County Road 2.
Odessa is also home to the Odessa Fairgrounds, one of the oldest in Ontario, operated by the Odessa Agricultural Society. The Fairgrounds are located on the southeast corner of Main Street and County Road 6.
The Mill Creek Park found on the north side of Main Street offers a peaceful place to take in the views of the Millhaven Creek, with seats and a gazebo. Babcock Mill Park, on Bridge Street south of Main Street, boasts a natural playground and a view of the Mill.
If you’re a golf enthusiast, Camden Braes Golf and Country Club, northwest of Odessa, offers 18 holes of manicured greens, mature trees, and a quiet, picturesque landscape.