Alert - COVID-19 Updates

Read More

Loyalist Township

Current Weather
Change Font Size A A
Emergency Services

Advanced Aquatics

We are having a difficulty to load your requested events, please come back at a later time.
Bronze Star
This course is excellent preparation for success in Bronze Medallion. Participants learn problem solving and decision making skills, in addition to rescue skills required to respond to an aquatic emergency. It is recommended that swimmers have completed the Swim Patrol or Swim Kids 10
Recommended Ages: 10-13 years    
Bronze Medallion/ Emergency First Aid with CPR-B
Bronze Medallion is the prerequisite for all lifesaving awards. Candidates develop the necessary swimming and lifesaving skills to respond effectively to a variety of aquatic emergencies. Emergency First Aid with CPR “B” will also be taught concurrently.
This course requires 100% attendance.
Prerequisites: 13 years of age or Bronze Star
Required Text: $50.00 Canadian Lifesaving Manual
Bronze Cross/ Standard First Aid with CPR-C
Bronze Cross teaches the difference between lifesaving and lifeguarding, the principals of emergency procedures, advanced water rescues, first aid, team work and the use of specialized equipment. Standard First aid with CPR “C” will also be taught concurrently. This course requires 100% attendance
Prerequisites:  Bronze Medallion
Required Text: $15.00 First Aid Manual; Canadian Lifesaving Manual
Red Cross Water Safety Instructor
WSI prepares candidates to instruct the Red Cross Swim programs. Candidates focus on strategies to introduce and develop fitness activities, skills and water safety, and swimming skills all abilities and ages. This course requires 100% attendance.
Pre-requisites: 15 years of age by the end of the in class course and Bronze Cross. Recommended Swim Kids 10
  • Step 1: Pre-Screening & Parent/Participant Meeting 
    Cost includes manuals and online access to step 2 online module
    • Please note candidates may be required to do additional swim training
    • following this assessment of their strokes & skills
    • Step 2:  On-line Modules
      To be completed by October 30 (fall session) OR February 5th (winter session).
    • Step 3: Teaching Hours
      8 hours total (2 hours/ week), to be arranged upon proof of completion of the on-line modules
    • Step 4: WSI Stroke & Skill Evaluation
    • Step 5: In class Water Safety Instructor Course

    Red Cross Water Safety Instructor Re-Certification
    Red Cross Water Safety Instructors must attend a recertification course every two years to maintain their certification.
    Pre-requisites: Red Cross Water Safety Instructor prior to 1996

National Lifeguard Course
National Lifeguard certification is Canada's professional lifeguard standard. National Lifeguard training develops a sound understanding of lifeguarding principles, good judgment, and a mature and responsible attitude towards the lifeguard's role. National Lifeguard training emphasizes prevention and effective rescue response in emergencies including first aid treatment. Candidates develop teamwork, leadership and communication skills. Fitness requirements include a timed object recovery, 50 m sprint challenge, 50 m rescue drill and 400 m endurance challenge.

The National Lifeguard training program is designed for lifesavers who wish to obtain a responsible job and leadership experience. Successful candidates are certified by the Lifesaving Society - Canada's lifeguarding experts.

Prerequisites: minimum 16 years of age, Bronze Cross and Standard First Aid (need not be current) from one of: Lifesaving Society, St. John Ambulance, Canadian Red Cross, Canadian Ski Patrol.
Required text: $50.00 Alert Manual

National Lifeguard Re-Certification
National Lifeguard certification is current for 2 years and is recertified by completing a National Lifeguard recertification exam. The National Lifeguard recertification exam is your opportunity to demonstrate your skills and recertify your award. You are responsible for reviewing the required content and skills and preparing yourself for the exam. Your exam is based on the National Lifeguard Award.
Prerequisites: National Lifeguard certification
Standard First Aid & CPR-C
Standard First Aid provides comprehensive training covering all aspects of first aid and CPR. Standard First Aid incorporates all of Emergency First Aid and is designed for those who require a more in-depth understanding of first aid including: legal implications of first aid treatment, spinal injuries, heat or cold injuries, bone and joint injuries, chest injuries, and medical emergencies. Includes CPR-C certification.
Required Text: $15 First Aid Manual; Canadian Lifesaving Manual


Standard First Aid Re-Certification
Current Standard First Aid (SFA) award holders may recertify their Lifesaving Society SFA certification just once on a Lifesaving Society SFA Recertification Course not more than 3 years from the Standard First Aid date of issue. To renew SFA certifications subsequently, award holders must repeat the full SFA Course. Thereafter, individuals may renew by alternating recertification’s and original courses. Holders of Standard First Aid certificates from other agencies may not recertify their certificate on a Lifesaving Society recertification course. They may recertify only with the original certifying agency.